Home - All news - INNOVATION - The ÏDKIDS community takes part in the New Shopping Experience
The ÏDKIDS community takes part in the New Shopping Experience

For the past three years the ÏDKIDS community has been coming up with innovative ways to shape the future of retail as part of its membership of PICOM, a French retail industry cluster. Here is the latest idea: KIDSCAN!

New Shopping Experience (NSE) is a brand created by PICOM, a French retail industry cluster. The aim is to encourage technology companies keen to shape the future of retail to leverage their expertise and offer innovative solutions.

In 2018, in collaboration with the start-up BLUEGRIOT (a consultancy specializing in connected objects), the ÏDKIDS community will present the innovative “KIDSCAN” project. It aims to help children appreciate the value of money and get them involved in finding their perfect present.

To do this, children are given a “UFO” to scan the barcodes of toys on store shelves. This little scanner shows the child if the potential purchase is within their parents’ preset budget using a simple graduated green or red colour indicator. If the scanned toy is within their budget, the indicator lights up green. The graduated colour shows what proportion of the total budget the toy represents. It works in the same way for toys that are over budget: the more the toy is over budget the higher the red indicator climbs. This system is a clever way for children to compare the price of different toys.

This connected object opens the door to a new shopping experience for children, helping them learn to shop “like grown-ups”.  As an added bonus, all the barcodes scanned with KIDSCAN are saved, so parents can see what toys their children are interested in. This list of future gift ideas can then be shared with friends and family!

This project will be showcased at the following trade fairs:

This European industry event is dedicated to 360° retail and will be held from Monday 10 to Wednesday 12 September 2018 in Pavillon 1 of the Paris Expo Porte de Versailles. It brings together offline and online retail professionals to find out more about all aspects of the 360° retail value chain (e.g. new distribution models, layout and design, customer pathways, web to store and store to web, shopper marketing and agile logistics).

This intelligent commerce show is held on 23, 24 and 25 October in the Grand Palais de Lille. It aims to promote and showcase new concepts on the future of retail. Organized by PICOM, this is an unmissable annual event for switched-on retail professionals. This year 200 exhibitors, 10,000 visitors and more than 100 conferences are planned.

  • Let’s hear from Antoine, multichannel project manager at ÏDKIDS

“I joined the ÏDKIDS community seven years ago as project manager in the web teams. I very quickly got involved with new services and business.

The ÏDKIDS community has been working with PICOM, a French retail industry cluster, for quite some time and every year we take part in the “New Shopping Experience” call for proposals, which encourages large groups and start-ups to help shape the future of retail. We have already run two successful projects: Creative Lab and My Neighbourhood Mat. This gave me the opportunity to build relationships with some exceptionally innovative external partners and leverage valuable expertise from internal partners. When you bring together childhood specialists, activity leaders, toy experts, startuppers, designers and other “Gyro Gearloose” characters, amazing things can happen!

The “New Shopping Experience” project was quick to develop and precisely targeted. We started work in March and by the end of September the KIDSCAN prototype will be ready to be presented. Our aim is to help young children become familiar with the concepts of budgeting and saving. We are looking forward to presenting our project at PARIS RETAIL WEEK in September and at the CONEXT trade fair in Lille in October.”

(Re)discover the 2017 project “My Neighbourhood Mat” :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You might find these articles interesting

Accueil - Toute l’actualité - INNOVATION - La communauté ÏDKIDS participe à la New Shopping Experience
La communauté ÏDKIDS participe à la New Shopping Experience

Depuis 3 ans la communauté ÏDKIDS propose des solutions innovantes pour imaginer le commerce de demain dans le cadre de son adhésion au Pôle de compétitivité des Industries du Commerce ! Découvrez la dernière-née : KIDSCAN !

New Shopping Experience (NSE) est une marque du Pôle de compétitivité des Industries du Commerce (PICOM). L’objectif est d’encourager les entreprises de technologies dédiées au commerce du futur à proposer des solutions innovantes, et également de valoriser leur savoir-faire.

En 2018, en collaboration avec la start up BLUEGRIOT, bureau d’études spécialisé en objets connectés, la communauté ÏDKIDS présentera l’innovation « KIDSCAN » ! Son rôle : accompagner les enfants à appréhender le concept de valeur de l’argent et les impliquer dans la recherche du cadeau idéal.

Pour cela, une « soucoupe »  permettra à l’enfant de scanner les codes-barres des jouets en magasin en parcourant les rayons. Cette scannette indique à l’enfant si cet achat potentiel entre dans le budget défini à l’avance par le parent,  avec un message simple : une jauge de couleur verte et rouge. Si le jouet scanné est dans le budget, alors la jauge s’allumera en vert. La graduation est proportionnelle au prix du jouet par rapport au budget total. Le fonctionnement est identique pour les jouets hors budget : plus le prix du jouet dépasse le budget, plus la jauge rouge sera étendue. Ce système permet à l’enfant de comparer intelligemment le prix des différents jouets.

Cet objet connecté ouvre la porte à une nouvelle expérience shopping durant laquelle l’enfant apprend à faire ses courses « comme les grands ».  Et petit plus : tous les codes-barres que l’enfant aura scannés avec KIDSCAN seront enregistrés pour que les parents aient accès à la liste des articles qui l’intéresse. Elle pourra alors être partagée avec la famille, les amis…pour de futures idées cadeaux !

Le projet sera valorisé lors de salons :

Cet événement professionnel européen dédié au commerce 360°, aura lieu du lundi 10 au mercredi 12 septembre 2018 dans le Pavillon 1 de Paris expo Porte de Versailles. Il réunit des professionnels du retail off- et on-line pour présenter l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur du commerce 360° (nouveaux modèles de distribution, agencement et design, parcours du consommateur, web to store et store to web, , shopper marketing, logistique agile…).

Ce salon du commerce intelligent se tiendra les 23, 24 et 25 octobre au Grand Palais de Lille. Il vise à promouvoir et valoriser de nouveaux concepts dédiés au commerce de demain ! Organisé par PICOM, cet événement est le rendez-vous annuel incontournable du commerce connecté. 200 exposants, 10 000 visiteurs et + de 100 conférences sont prévus pour cette édition.

  • Le mot d’Antoine, Chef de projet omnicanal ÏDKIDS :

« Je suis arrivé il y a 7 ans au sein de la communauté ÏDKIDS en tant que gestionnaire de projets dans les équipes web. Depuis peu, j’ai intégré les nouveaux services et business.

La communauté ÏDKIDS est engagée depuis longtemps avec le Pôle de compétitivité des industries du commerce (PICOM), et nous participons chaque année à l’appel à projet « New shopping Experience », avec lequel des grands groupes et des start-up tentent de réinventer le commerce de demain. C’est dans ce cadre que nous avons déjà mené à bien le Creative Lab, ou Mon tapis de quartier. Grâce à ses projets, j’ai pu développer des contacts avec des partenaires externes particulièrement innovants, mais également  en interne, avec les experts que nous sollicitons. Lorsque l’on met en lien des spécialistes de l’enfance, de l’animation, du jouet avec des startuppers, des designers, et autre « Géo trouve-tout », il en ressort belles choses !

Le cadre de l’appel à projet « New Shopping Experience » est très précis et très court. Nous avons démarré le sujet en mars, et début septembre, nous allons présenter un prototype de KIDSCAN. Notre objectif, permettre aux jeunes enfants de se familiariser avec les notions de budget et d’économie. Nous avons hâte de présenter l’objet lors de la PARIS RETAIL WEEK en septembre, et aussi au salon CONEXT à Lille en octobre. »

(Re)découvrir le projet mené en 2017 « Mon tapis de quartier »

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ces articles pourraient vous intéresser