Home - All news - ACT FOR KIDS - Social initiatives - Launch of Jacadi’s 4th Love Maille campaign!
Launch of Jacadi’s 4th Love Maille campaign!

From the beginning of October 2018 to February 2019, a new capsule collection to raise money for Amitié Partage will be on sale on Jacadi’s website!

This innovative return-to-work programme helps unemployed women get back into work by teaching them to knit under the guidance of an instructor. This helps to restore their confidence in the future and puts them on the path to vocational training or a job.

Now in its fourth year, the Love Maille initiative is a partnership between Jacadi, which has designed eight timeless pieces for babies aged 3 to 6 months, and ten women trained and supported by Amitié Partage, who each year knit a 300-piece collection comprising items such as an embroidered sweater, bootees, a hat — and a miniature sweater for Martin the teddy bear, a Jacadi emblem.  The wool for this new collection will be supplied by Fonty, a French spinning mill committed to sustainable development whose products are 100% made in France.

This community-spirited gesture is further proof of Jacadi’s commitment to young mums and their children. 

  • In June 2018, ten of the charity’s knitters visited Jacadi’s head office for an enjoyable day spent sharing ideas and experiences.

  • Let’s hear from Aleksandra, Jacadi’s newborn pattern maker

“This is the first year I’ve been fortunate enough to be involved in Love Maille. My job has been to design and develop the products’ technical elements. At the end of March, I went with Ursula, another pattern maker, to meet the knitters at the ÏDKIDS community head office in Roubaix to talk about the different designs. We received a very warm welcome. It’s great to meet people who are willing to dedicate their talents to charity and Jacadi. We had the opportunity to meet them again at a solidarity day organized at Jacadi’s head office. On this occasion, the knitters came to learn how to make “perfect” pompoms, like the ones on the hats and bootees in the Love Maille collection. This day grounded me and gave me the chance to ask myself what I wanted to make of my job. Since then I have tried harder to develop genuine relationships with others and am more aware of the vital importance of ethical supplier relationships and engaging with the community.”

  • A word from Benoit de Larouzière, director of Fonty

The Fonty spinning mill (or “Filature de Rougnat”) is one of the last wool spinning and dyeing mills still operating in France. The factory has been awarded the Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant (EPV) or “living heritage company” label in recognition of the exceptional level of craftsmanship and techniques used to create its beautiful yarns and colours.  Our team of passionate professionals has two traditional strings to their bow: manufacturing yarns (for knitting, sewing and weaving) and dyeing/creating colours. The factory specializes in producing natural fibres and top-of-the-range yarn. It takes great pride in producing a high-quality, French product in small batches using methods that respect the environment, are eco-responsible and are socially aware.

We are constantly thinking about how our company can act in a meaningful way, and we participate as often as we can in social and community initiatives at a local, national and international level. We first noticed the Love Maille initiative on social media, on the website and in Jacadi stores. This type of project, which uses wool for ethical purposes, ties in perfectly with our beliefs.

Meeting the team was the deciding factor in our involvement. Love Maille is a fantastic community project. It is led effectively with respect and discretion and delivers clear results. It’s not just a publicity campaign. It was immediately clear to us that we had a lot in common with our partner teams. Above and beyond their obvious love for beautiful wool and textiles, we discovered that the people at Jacadi shared our ethical values.

We offered them our BB Merino wool range. It’s one of our great classics. It’s a timeless product that has built and is still building our reputation. Super soft and machine washable, it’s a very popular choice for knitting babywear. The project design team chose a few colours and eventually came up with their designs. We then sent the quantity of wool needed to the workshop (about 20 kg) and the knitting phase started in spring. The designs were ready for public release at the beginning of September. We are very happy with the results, and with the outcome of this project!

More about Amitié Partage

This social integration charity supports some of the poorest families in Roubaix by helping individuals and groups find work, providing emergency basics for 600 of the most disadvantaged families, organizing cultural workshops for children and their parents, and supporting older children with their education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You might find these articles interesting

Accueil - Toute l’actualité - ACT FOR KIDS - Lancement de la 4ème opération Love Maille chez Jacadi !
Lancement de la 4ème opération Love Maille chez Jacadi !

D’octobre 2018 à février 2019, une nouvelle collection capsule solidaire au profit de l’association Amitié Partage sera en vente sur le site web Jacadi!

Ce projet de réinsertion original permet à des femmes éloignées de l’emploi de retrouver une activité en apprenant à tricoter avec l’aide d’une encadrante technique, afin de reprendre confiance en l’avenir et d’être accompagnées dans la recherche d’une formation qualifiante ou d’un emploi.

Reconduite depuis 4 ans, l’opération Love Maille  est née d’un partenariat entre Jacadi qui a créé 8 modèles intemporels de vêtements dédiés aux tout-petits de 3 à 6 mois et une dizaine de femmes, formées et suivies par l’association Amitié Partage, qui tricotent chaque année une collection de 300 pièces (pull brodé, chaussons, bonnet… et pull miniature pour l’ours en peluche Martin, un emblématique de Jacadi).  Pour cette nouvelle collection : Fonty, une filature française axée sur le développement durable et 100% made in France, fournit la laine !

Un joli geste de solidarité et une preuve supplémentaire de l’engagement de Jacadi  au service des mamans et de leurs enfants ! 

  • En juin 2018, une dizaine de tricoteuses de l’association se sont rendues au siege Jacadi dans le cadre d’une journée solidaire : de beaux moments de partage et d’échange!

Le mot d’Aleksandra, Modéliste Naissance chez Jacadi

« Il s’agit de la première année où j’ai la chance de pouvoir participer de près à l’aventure Love Maille. Mon rôle a été de concevoir et de mettre au point les produits en ce qui concerne les aspects techniques. Avec Ursula, également modéliste, nous sommes allées rencontrer les tricoteuses au siège de la communauté ÏDKIDS à Roubaix fin mars afin de partager avec elles à propos des différents modèles. Nous avons été accueillies très chaleureusement ! Cela fait du bien de rencontrer des personnes qui mettent tout leur talent au service de leur association et de Jacadi. Nous avons eu l’opportunité de pouvoir les revoir lors d’une journée solidaire organisée au siège de Jacadi. A cette occasion, les tricoteuses sont venus nous apprendre à faire des pompons « parfaits », comme ceux que qui sont présents sur les bonnets et les chaussons de la collection Love Maille. Cette journée m’a permis de remettre les pieds sur terre, et de me poser des questions sur la manière dont j’avais envie d’exercer mon métier. Depuis j’aspire à d’avantage d’authenticité dans les relations humaines, et je cerne d’autant plus le rôle central des rapports éthiques avec les fournisseurs et de la mise en place d’actions de solidarité ».

Témoignage de Benoit de Larouziere, directeur de Fonty

« La Filature Fonty (« Filature de Rougnat ») est l’une des toutes dernières manufactures de filature et de teinture de laine en France. La manufacture a reçu le Label Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant (EPV) qui reconnait la fragilité et le caractère exceptionnel des savoir-faire et gestes déployés autour de deux objectifs : le beau fil, et les belles couleurs.  Notre équipe de professionnels passionnés par leur métier, perpétue un double savoir-faire traditionnel : fabrication de fils (à tricoter, à coudre, à tisser) ; teinture et création de couleurs. La manufacture s’est spécialisée dans les fibres naturelles et le fil haut de gamme. Elle privilégie résolument une fabrication de qualité, française, par petits lots, avec une approche respectueuse de l’environnement, éco-responsable, et socialement engagée.

Nous réfléchissons sans relâche aux moyens de nourrir et donner du sens à notre projet d’entreprise, et participons autant que nous le pouvons à des  initiatives d’engagement social et solidaire, au niveau local, national, ou international. Nous avions remarqué le projet Love Maille sur les réseaux sociaux, le site internet et les boutiques de l’enseigne Jacadi. Ce type de projet, qui utilise la laine à des fins éthiques, correspondait à nos convictions.

La rencontre avec l’équipe a été décisive dans notre participation ! Love Maille est un beau projet de solidarité, mené avec respect, discrétion et efficacité, et qui porte des fruits visibles. Ce n’est pas uniquement une opération de communication. Nous avons immédiatement compris que nous partagions beaucoup de choses avec l’équipe de nos partenaires. Au-delà de leur amour manifeste de la belle laine et des beaux textiles, nous avons perçu chez Jacadi des valeurs éthiques qui nous ont convaincu.

Nous avons proposé notre gamme de laine BB Merinos. Elle fait partie de nos grands classiques. Intemporelle, elle a fait, et fait toujours, notre réputation. Très douce, lavable en machine, elle est très prisée pour le tricot de layette. L’équipe de stylisme du projet a choisi quelques coloris parmi eux, et élaboré des modèles.Après quelques essais, nous avons envoyé les quantités de laine nécessaires à l’atelier (environ 20 kg), et la phase de tricot avec l’équipe des tricoteuses a pu débuter au printemps. Les modèles sont prêts depuis le début du mois de septembre pour être présentés au public. Nous sommes très heureux du résultat, mais aussi des autres fruits de ce projet ! ».

Cette association d’aide à l’insertion propose aux familles les plus démunies à Roubaix : un accompagnement social vers l’emploi aussi bien individuel qu’en groupe, une aide de première urgence pour 600 familles en grandes difficultés, des ateliers d’éveil culturel pour les tout petits accompagnés de leurs parents et du soutien scolaire pour les plus grands.

Ces articles pourraient vous intéresser